by Hazel Krause

The Long-Lost-Friend Friend Request

And to the man who, once a boy, spoke foolishly of Barbie magic when I said to him, may the force be with you.  No names needed.  It was a one-of-a-kind thing to say.  You know who you are.  Anyway, this is what I have to say.

‘Twas your name I heard that made me halt my breath as my heart ceased its beat with great pause.

A name that was dead and laid to rest in an eternal bed so long ago, now resurrected syllables echoing in my ears.

Milestones, earmarks and rites of passage to be shared are missed as Old Man Time did not stop the boat for us.

I almost don’t believe it’s you, whom I can relate to, that has returned from Oz in a grand and wonderous ship of hot air.

We don’t know anything of each other save for that one tragic crash that took our lives from us

Neither one the same since we flatlined in the woods except our clinging spirits still holding together.

My plight is that like that movie Will was in, we get close and we destruct the fabric of space and time, every time.

What do I then do with you finding me and asking me to pick up where we left off,

what do I do with your friend request?

Leave a comment